Tuition Reciprocity and Fees

The National Student Exchange is a tuition-reciprocal exchange program and uses two payment plans to accommodate that reciprocity.
  • Plan A - The student pays the resident (in-state/in-province) tuition and mandatory fees of the host campus directly to that campus.
  • Plan B - The student pays normal tuition and mandatory fees (e.g., health services, student activities) fees to their home institution. That payment is retained by the home campus; it is not transferred to the host institution. Students do not pay tuition to the host campus. Since Plan B students have paid their mandatory fees to their home university, they are not expected to pay these fees to their host campus.
There are occasional exceptions Plan B students encounter when their host campus is not able, by institutional or board policy, to waive certain fees (i.e., student health fees). Such fees are identified on the Campus Profile.

Whether using Plan A or Plan B, students are expected to pay to their host campus those fees which are assessed as a condition of enrollment in courses (e.g., laboratory fees, internship, art and photography supplies, student teaching, field studies). The cost for room and meals are always paid directly by the student to their host college or university.